Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

I agree with the speaker that sometimes, it is necessary for the government to withhold information, but these things should not become common practice and a means to bring obscurity to the governance.

Sometimes government needs to obscure information which are of national importance. Certain issues like country’s defence are of utmost importance & in no case, these information should be mis-utilized by any sections of society. If the government is planning any such scheme which needs to be executed without any warnings, the information needs to be classified and not to be disseminated in the general public. Also in cases where the government is planning to raid, the movements are often kept silent because in this case the criminal may get all the news from media which he needs to escape. The information has to keep secret until the recovery is done.

Also sometimes it may happen that certain things fail in the system, like say some nuclear test gone wrong, or one of the satellite is not working. In these cases also govt needs to first fix the thing before telling these to the common public, as it may cause mass level panic in the population. Also there may be chance that someone can take advantage of the same broken thing to get undue favours. So, it is better to first fix and then tell to avoid panic which won’t be of any help.

There are few international agreements between two countries in which both the countries have to make few compromises to help each other & improve the long-term relationship. Keeping such information in public will not be of any use instead can damage the relationship with other countries.

But in no way politicians can use this as a tool to go away with the wrongdoings. Opaque governments are never very successful ones. People should know what is happening with their money and they have every right to question the government for the same. Keeping people in dark & labelling everything as ‘national security’ & obscuring information will never help in creating the trust which people should have in the government.

A politician who is really working for the welfare of people will find minimal things to hide from people, whereas a politician who is indulged in corruption will find it difficult to reveal even basic details about spending. Transparency of government is also a good way to asses how well the government is performing and is devoted to the public.

To conclude, surely there are things which must be kept secret atleast for sometime for the successful execution and the desired result. But those things should be minimal. It doesn’t give politicians the warrant to do anything they want and not even be answerable. In the end, the money the politicians spend are people’s money & should be used for their welfare only. Politicians are always answerable to the common public.