Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Political Leaders are elected by the people and they are for the people. They are expected to solve public problems and help them live a better life. Political Leaders should stay true to their principles while helping people solve heir problems to be effective in the long run. This would be beneficial to both people and the country in the long run.

To begin with, public have a lot of different opinions which matter them in their day to day lives. The issue ranging from irregular electricity to the lack of educated teachers affect their daily lives. These issues need to be addressed to the greater masses. Several years back, in Indian villages, women used rag during their menstrual periods as they couldn’t afford sanitary napkins. So, a villager tried to solve this problem by creating sanitary napkins at very cheap rates. He tried to pitch this idea to the leaders, but was overlooked. Life of women then, could have become much more better if this idea was adopted.

However, abandoning principles for the sake of adhering to public opinion would be foolhardy. A leader, who doesn’t stand to his own principles cannot be trusted with leading a country. I strongly support listening to public opinions but following them just on the basis of public opinion is unwise. Many a times, public opinions are made up due to strong emotional attachment with the unjust events. The attack of 9/11 on Twin towers made people go haywire and public demanded an immediate attack on the guilty country. If the leaders then had adhered to public opinion, it could have become a major issue.

While sticking to one’s principles, is a sign of a good leader, but being stubborn negates it. Many great leaders in the world succumbed to their wrong principles which ultimately left a negative impression in public’s mind. Hitler, a great leader, who united Germans and faught valiantly against all forces was obstinate on killing Jews. His personal vendetta against Jews and the merciless killings made him an enemy of various other countries. Inspite of repeated attempts by other leaders to change the course of action, he was obstinate, which led to his downfall.

Political leaders have the power to change the state of a country in either positive or negative way. Staying true to one’s principles, adhering to public opinions and working for the welfare of humanity can define an effective Political leader.