Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

The world has evolved with revolutionary changes over time and most of these radical changes are brought by the sedulous leaders who contend for the beliefs on which they stand tenaciously. Public consist of lots of such dissident leaders who still aspire to work for a reason and bring change that is going to bring enlightenment in their society. However, public opinion is divergent in nature. For every cause, there is a protagonist who stands doggedly for his beliefs and then there are opponents who excoriate those beliefs. And for the leader to choose the right over wrong becomes a dilemma not because he is confused between these divergent opinions but by the fact that how is he going to proof the right over the wrong. There comes the law book which states the set of rules and principles which is designed with the consensus of the judiciary system on which a country stands and hence could work to maintain peace.

The mandate contains the set of rules and axioms according to which a country should run ensuring peace. The leader is not that person who is going to support the majority and will follow the belief of what majority of public thinks. He is going to take a veracious decision even if the majority of people censure him from doing so. And for taking this rebellious step he needs certain rules on the basis of which he could support his idea. For example, a few days back supreme court gave his judgment on Sabarimala temple case which detracts the views of the majority of the public in Kerala. But the egalitarian decision of the supreme court made an epitome of equality and ultimately, showed his support for the minority group of people. This is a paradigm for those who think that a set of rules makes a person conservative and could not help in bringing the radical changes commensurating to the changing time of the world.

A leader is a person with qualities of decision making who thinks and works for the welfare and enrichment of his people. It is very important for him to give an unbiased and evenhanded decision which is salubrious for everyone. People think that following axioms makes a person dogmatic and orthodox. But they forget to take into account the fundamental objective of these set of laws that without these tenets there will be no one who is able to take a final decision on any controversial topic. For any altercation that takes place between different factions could be resolved only by the help of a leader who is going to take a fair decision on the basis of defined rules which was made formerly by the consensus of those groups. There were many instances when it was seen that discrepancy in opinions on the topics like caste, color, status, a religious belief which leads to serious truculent behavior of combating groups results in deteriorating the peace of their surrounding. To maintain peace in such conditions, the law is the foremost thing that he can use.

Also, it is wrongly stated that the leader has to always stick upon the same set of rules which was stated salubrious for decades ago. With time changing, innovation is taking place and technology is advancing. When everything is advancing and evolving then why not these set of rules. There should be brought proper consensus by the leader on a topic which is no longer the same as it was before. Historically, there were many topics which are not considered to be given even a minute attention for which today there are big scuffles taking place. For example, the supreme court has shown so many examples of always advocating the equality and authenticity of a matter. It gave his sagacious justice for gay sex by decriminalizing it, a bill is passed to indict a long prevailing rule of triple talaq in India. It is clearly visible that you do not have to compromise your beliefs in order to bring praiseworthy change amongst your society, you just have to fight for it.

Therefore,the set of rules and principles are the pillars over which the peace of a country is maintained. For the leader to work for the enrichment of his people he should ensure that his decision is not biased and if needed he could work on making viable changes in these rules but discriminating the whole rulebook over the diverse opinions of his public will be foolhardy. He should consider eclectic views of public and should make insightful decision according to the axioms of what could be done and what more changes still has to be done.