Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

The ever-changing dynamics of the public are easily observed by scrolling through social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. The prompt states that leaders either have to yield to public opinion or remain committed. I strongly agree with the latter of the two supporting that public opinion should not influence a leader's decisions for the following two reasons.

Leaders are selected for their views and their principles by the people. It is therefore important that the leader, one supports, does not abandon its views and remains consistent. Whenever a leader gives in to the public, one could effectively state that he deceived the people who voted for him. Most people can tolerate a leader who listens to the public, however, when their chosen leader fails to represent them, he will lose his credibility. Resultingly, people will lose faith in their leader and possibly even in the whole system as the political leaders will jump from principle to principle submitting to the pressure of the public.

Secondly, the opinion of the people is often based on the information they have been fed. With the increasing number of fake news and propaganda articles the public opinion can easily be based on false elements. When a leader gives in to the public opinion, that it is in itself based on false elements, the outcome of his actions can cause severe economical damage. For example, a news article based on false information stresses that farmers should stop using machinery because of environmental damage. If the people would accept this as true and enforce this upon their leader, the political action derivating from the pressure could lead to additional taxes on agricultural machinery. Hence, farmers could go bankrupt and lose their farm. A reduction in farmers equals a reduction in food and thus a possible shortage increasing the prices of food.

In conclusion, I am strongly against again leaders who yield to public opinion rather than sustaining their straight course of action. By standing firm and fixed with respect to their views when elected, voters will believe in their leaders and possibly stay loyal to them resulting in an extension of a leader's term. Besides, a leader has better information sources than the average person, therefore he should trust his own sources rather than the public.