Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

Democracy states that it is 'of the people for the people and by the people' and where there is monarchy, although not necessarily,it is assumed to be in the interest of people. In both cases the politics has to benefit the general populace. One can achieve so by either supporting the general consensus or by trying to achieve the ideal. While achieving the ideal is not practical and one can merely try to be as close as possible to the apotheosis of politics, finding common grounds and reaching reasonable consensus sounds more cogent.

To begin with, the problems faced by people are best understood by people, and they can come up with several ideas that benefit the most. Politics that adhere by people, helps, by listening to the consensus and understanding their needs. Any solution provided so would prove beneficial to, if not all, the most of populace. There are several examples of leaders worldwide who have gone against the ideological solutions and have provided the residents with what they need the most.

On the other hand, the ideological pursuit can get the most ideal solution but it may not be the best solution for people, in a particular scenario. For example, people might want a particular river to be diverted towards the region where population density is high and water is in scarcity. The ideal solution would suggest one to leave the natural resource as it is and re-enforce the transportation of water to the resident areas. But the general consensus might suggest that diverting river will benefit people the most.

The non ideological solution might create great disturbances sometimes but ultimately help the people, thus get a lot of support form the people. For example, the demonetization that took place in India, resulted in a huge crisis of currency notes and impacted the growth rate of country. An ideal solution would have not suggested such action plan. This affected the common man the most, still the minister was confidently supported by citizens because the result of this plan is what the people wanted the most and that is to curb the black money.

Doing what is in favor of the consensus may have fewer side-effects but the consensus should be favored, if a full implementation is not possible partial implementations could also work. Take for example the strict immigration laws implement in the united states to device solution to increasing rate of unemployment sourced by global competition. While an ideology would have favored globalization over the need of residents, favoring the citizens of united states helped country get stable domestic economy and more jobs for its citizens.

In conclusion, the most ideal steps might not prove to be the most beneficial solutions. In politics one shall always consider the dichotomy thoroughly and go for what is in the favor of larger number of people.