Strong beliefs prevent people from thinking clearly about issues.

Without qualifying, the statement attempts to link strong beliefs and clarity of thought and presents a “one shoe fits all” conclusion. So let us first explore what “thinking clearly” can mean. Does it imply that people with strong beliefs are incapable of planning rationally or accounting for uncertainities? No, that’s not true. Mahatma Gandhi - the father of the Indian independence movement - had an unvavering vision of freeing India through non-violence. His beliefs were challenged by thousands. He was labelled as a lunatic for trying to think this would lead to independance. However, he stood by his beliefs, planned his protests accordingly and eventually led India to freedom. To therefore say that strong beliefs preclude planning or thinking is false.

Another scenario could be irrational, idealistic thoughts? No. In fact, “irrational and idealistic” are what people labelled visionary thinkers like Larry Page (Google), Steve Jobs (Apple) and Elon Musk (SpaceX). Sometimes, leaders need to have extremely strong and unwavering beliefs in order to bring their ideas to fruition. If Larry Page would have believed that indexing the entire web was not possible then we would never have had Google. If Steve Jobs had not had the strongest of beliefs to put a thousand songs into our pockets, we would never have had an iPod.

What’s common across Gandhi, Page, Jobs and Musk is that these individuals not only had strong ideas, but they had sound ideas. These ideas were backed by years of experience, planning, experimentation and logical thinking. Thus, strong beliefs and strong convictions do not always preclude from clear thinking. When these beliefs are based on misguided ideals, whims and emotions, that is when it starts to affect clarity of thought.

A sign of a good leader is who who listens to others. And that still applies here. One can have strong thoughts or opinons and still be open to ideas, improvements or changes. But when these thoughts are driven by malice, jealousy, ego or other emotions, people start to make irrational decisions. They stop listening to their peers. They start attacking any opposition to their own thoughts. This leads to an echo-chamber where people start regurgitating what you want to hear instead of offerring you sound advise. In such cases, having strong beliefs does indeed prevent people from thinking clearly and eventually might lead to the their demise.

To conclude, having strong belifs does not preclude one from thinking clearly, listening to others or making sound decisions. Rather, it’s when these beliefs are driven by whim or misguided ideals, that people start to think poorly and make bad decisions.