Students should memorize the fact only after they have studied the idea, trends, and concepts that help explain these facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned only little.

The speaker cites an effective way of learning process of students and claims that students should understand the ideas, trends and concepts before memorizing the facts for better understanding of the subject. As far as I am concerned about learning process, the statement is true enough and therefore I completely agree with the claim made for the following reasons.

Most of the students are exam oriented and therefore they focus primarily upon the main facts without knowing the basic ideas and concept behind it. However, such learning process often frustrates students if similar types of questions are asked in the examination. For instance, consider the case of chemical reaction between acid and metal. Since students are often concerned with only those chemical reactions which frequently appear in the examination, they are unaware about the possible chemical reaction between different types of metal and acid at different physical conditions and the concentration of the acid. If any change in the type of acid or metal or in the concentration in the acid is made in the question, it is for sure that the students would make a mistake as they do not have the basic idea about such reactions. To better understand the chemical reactions, students should have basic ideas and concepts regarding atomic size, nuclear force, valency, chemical reactivity of metals and non-metals at different physical states, role of catalyst, and the physical conditions imposed during chemical reactions. Without these basic ideas and concepts, students are unlikely to learn chemical reaction.

Students often make a rote memorization of the facts which are related to their examination, without knowing basic ideas about the terms related to a specific topic. This obviously creates trouble to students while solving the problem and students are likely to leave the question during examination. For instance, students can easily make a rote understanding of the formula of power of a body (i.e, power = work/time), and they may be able to solve such problem if the question is asked in terms of work and time. However, if the problem of power is asked in terms of force, mass, distance, velocity, or distance travelled and time taken, it is for sure that the students who are unknown about how these terms are related to power (power=work/time, work= force*distance, force=mass*acceleration, acceleration= change in velocity/ time, and velocity= distance/ time), it cause stress upon students and they are likely to leave the question in examination. Thus, having a proper knowledge about the basic ideas and concept about the subject matter is essential for the students to have a proper understanding of the subject matter.

In conclusion, rote study of the facts without understanding the basic ideas and concepts is not reliable at all. It not only cause frustration during examination but also leads students to make wrong generalization of the subject matter. At the same time, students lose their confidence and forget what have been studied. Thus, rote study is not long lasting and is almost meaningless unless they have the basic knowledge, ideas and the concepts of the facts.