Students should only take courses in college that have a direct bearing on their future careers.

Directions:

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Universities are well-known by providing a wide range of topics some of these topics let students accuire certain skills. However, universities are also known for delifiering students with courses that are not relevant to their future professions. Therefore, universities should only provide their students with germane courses to their intended future careers, due to many reasons including reducing invested time and money by students in their studies and to meeting the needs of market by graduating more competent professions in addition to enable the students to develop more in depth knowledge and skills in courses that are most important to their future.

The energy consumed by students in overcoming courses and subjects that are not really relevant to their future careers should be allocated and tranfered on other more significant courses. Having more fewer subjects will enable students to focus more, and in the other hand will enable university educators to have more time to delifer more suffesticated information to the students and enough time to sharpen students' skills. An experment done by OI University showed that by reducing the amount of courses load per semester to students, students' grades and knowledge increased with more than 45%. In addition to enhancing delifered knowledge, by cutting out irrelevant courses, for example cutting history courses from mechanical engineering curriculum, diffently will enable students to just focus their studies on mechanical subjects which will lead to reduce needed time to accuire a degree thus fewer money invested by students' or their parents.

Beside the benefits for students, other economical benefits will be created by following only relevant courses policy. As the market will be supported with more qualified professionals and in higher speed, meaning meeting market demands and having much younger professionals who can work with lower salaries in the beginning of their career that will result a higher developing overall economy. A study carried out by MIT on the effect of Bootcamps, which are programs that only focus in giving certain skills in relatively short time, revealed that 35% percent of high school graduates prefer boot camps over universities degrees. The study revealed also companies hire more boot camps graduates than university graduates as they ask for much lower wedges.

We can not neglect sometimes additional courses enable students to expose to different fields that can interest them really and may change there majors to pursue a degree in these fields to have a future jobs on them. This is true for a number of people who did not find a chance to try differnet things in their early lives during high school. Another study by MIT showed that 47% of all engineering students thinks of changing their field of study due to the rapid changes in the job markets where jobs of accountants and HR are more wanted.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits of exposing students to new fields, focusing their times and effort in skills and information that matter the most to their future has benefit that out weight the outcomes of students who studied irrelevant courses.