"Studying foodways--- what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume them---- is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture."

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Within the field of anthropology, studying a culture’s relationship with food is an excellent way to gain a deeper understanding of a specific culture. Personally, I believe that studying the food ways of a particular group or society is the best way to gain deep insight into the understanding of a distinct culture. Studying how a society interacts with food reveals many of the intrinct and valued compenents of a culture that are often times tacit in nature.

One of the most fundamental parts of a culture is the religious or spiritual views of a people. By studying foods one can decipher the religious norms of a society. This exact concept can be seen within the Jewish tradition. Jewish people are required by the Torah to only eat Kosher food due to their beliefts about pork. The culture of Islam also has similar beliefs regarding pork. Furthermore one could also look in Christianity and observe the practice of Lent where traditional Christian’s would give up eating meat for 40 days leading up to Easter. Each one of these culture’s interacts with food in different ways, revealing religious and spiritual beliefs. Obtaining this deep cultural insight couldn’t be achieved without studying foodways.

Another fundamental part of a culture is what jobs or profession hold value or importance within a society. By studying food pathways we can see what individuals hold status within a group of people. This can be seen for example in studying Japanese foodways. In Japan, becoming a Sushi chef is a highly specialized line of work. Becoming a master or as the Japanesse say “Kaizen” takes decades of devotion. This observation can only be gained by studying and analyzing food prepartion, a key component of food pathways.

By looking at common ingredients found within most meals you can gain deep insight into what food is valued by a people and in turn gain insight into many every-day cultural norms such as, farming practices, or clothing. In China rice can be found in many essential meals, it is a staple of their country. The Aztecs valued corn, or as they called it “Maize.” In order to farm Rice you need lots of wetlands, in order to farm Maize you need a temparent climate with lots of sun. By studying food pathways it can reveal the farming practices of a culture as well as the landscape that the people interact with. This reveals the every day features of a culture. The tools they use, the clothing they wear, the seasons or times of year they celebrate based on climate.

There are many aspects to a culture, it’s religion, its social structure and its food gathering practices. Deep insights into all these foundational parts of culture can be found by looking into food pathways. Given the multi-faceted nature of food and people’s interaction with food it is in conclusion the best way to study and gain knowledge about a culture.