“Studying foodways—what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume

them—is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Cultures are followed in different ways in different countries. As the author asserts studying foodways is one of the best way to gain understanding of a culture. I concede with the author’s opinion as understanding a culture involves knowledge of cultural customs, how they are carried through, progressed, etc.

Foodways here is an interesting topic, as how people actually started producing it, how they realized it’s necessity, to prepare and to consume it. We have now come far away from just eating raw vegetables to these fried potatoes called ‘fries’ or mcdonald’s cheese burger. There lies a beauty of how we learned of sowing seeds to growing vegetables or extracting carrot from underground. But then the question arises of non-vegetarians, how we relied on meat. How we processed all the food items. Researchers succeeded in counting the amount of calories, proteins in a food item. We all are now so aware of differentiating all the healthy and unhealthy food. A telling example of discovery of yoghurt, how we learned to acquire it from cow’s milk, how it’s stored, it’s period of storage, how we consume it. Now, we have these yoghurts coming in different brands.

Thus, there’s an interesting history studying foodways. Food industries have now come far away from the traditional customs. In the final analysis therefore, studying foodways would be the best for one to understand the culture.