Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Innovation is increasingly harder to avoid in society today. The amount of technology that is a part of our lives will only ever continue to increase and could possibly define us. From social media that can connect the whole planet digitally to the human abilities of the robot Sophia, people are becoming more purposeful in being simple through technology. Hence, the burgeoning inventions and technology are making our lives much easier to live.

The continual rise of social media such as YouTube, Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook bring significant influence that can reach almost an unknowingly innumerable audience. Recording the beautiful islands of Hawaii and the secret yet marvelously gorgeous volcanoes, the travel erudite can reach a wide number of fans who may initiallly be unaware of these spots. A YouTuber could passionately advocate for equal pay for woman through a video and still impact a large audience without physical presence, maybe even up to the leaders heading the labor workforce. Because of the high accessibility of computers and phones to social media, users can easily view such posts or videos of their interests rather than spending time asking around or physically attending their events.

Recently, the rise of the driverless car has been buzzing among almost everyone. The hope that people will no longer need to drive seems to be an achievable dream. Safely taking kids to baseball practice or driving up through the rigors of Yosemite valley, people can lay back and relax rather than spending so much energy on the wheel. Hence, such inventions would simplify lives significantly.

In some cases, technology could be used politically. Take weapons, for example. The government can hire the top notch engineers to build nuclear weapons to easily advance national agendas. It is thus important to maintain the purpose of technology and whether it can save and protect citizens. Technology has the potential to simplify yet could be abused if not advocated properly.

Technology brings much simplicity, peace, and time saves through numerous inventions and digital platform accessibilities. If purposeful and simplicity driven, technology will improve lives today.