Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the past several decades, technology has made an indelible impact on virtually all aspects of society, from the workplace to relationships to everyday tasks like buying groceries. While many believe that the rapid progression of technology has only made our lives more complicated, others posit that technology has actually simplified people's lives. The development of the internet and smartphones have reduced the time and effort required to research a variety of topics, made basic necessities like food, housing, and transportation easier to obtain, and allowed countless people to connect with others all over the world without leaving their homes.

Answering even simple questions like "Which movie won Best Picture in 1975" or "How many people live in France" used to require access to encyclopedias. Moreover, researching more substantial or serious topics, such as health concerns or one's career options, often required access to experts in a given field or well-stocked library. Certainly, academic research required a trip to the library and combing through numerous volumes, even at the high school level. Now, rather than continually buying costly encylopedias every few years or traveling to a library for research, many people have the sum total of all human knowledge in their pockets in the form of a smartphone. Answers to questions like "Who starred in Titanic?" or "What do I have to do to become a clinical psychologist?" are just a few quick clicks away and can be accessed by anyone with a smartphone, not just those with access to encylopedias, a library, or people who happen to be experts in a given field.

In addition, technology has streamlined access to food for many people. Rather than having to go to a restaurant to pick up takeout or even call to have a pizza delivered, many people can get food delivered to their doorstep with just a few clicks on apps like Uber Eats or Postmates. For those who prefer to prepare their own meals, services like Blue Apron allow customers to order groceries delivered to their homes, rather than having to devote time and energy to taking a trip to a grocery store. Technology has also made it easier for many people to access transportation; rather than scrambling to hail cabs, we can now order Ubers or Lyfts with ease and track our rides on a map so that we can know exactly when and where they will arrive. Finally, the internet and smartphones have simplifie finding temporary housing when traveling, as well as homes and apartments. Rather than having to call certain hotels to check rates in a city you are traveling to, you can now research hundreds of hotels online in a matter of minutes, along with a variety of other options, such as hostels and AirBnB, which allows people to rent out their homes to travelers and is often more affordable.

Before the advent of the internet, many people with niche interests or specific experiences (such as roleplaying or having a child with autism) felt isolated, especially those in relatively less populated areas without clubs or support groups dedicated to specific identities or experiences. However, the internet has allowed many people who previously felt little or no sense of community to find support, friendship, and advice on forums and social media like Facebook or Tumblr. Facebook groups like House Plant Hobbyists connects people all over the world who are interested in growing a variety of house plants and allows them to share stories and advice. Websites like Tumblr often allow adolescents and young adults who may feel excluded by their real-life peers because of race, sexuality, or gender identity to connect with others with similar experiences and to learn more about social justice-related issues.

In conclusion, technology has certainly changed nearly every aspect of our society, so much so that the world we know might be nearly unrecognizable to people just thirty or forty years ago. Many people argue that increased access to information and services through the internet have only served to overwhelm and complicate our lives, others posit that the progression of technology has simplified society for the better. Technology allows us to easily and quickly access almost all human knowledge, quickly and simply obtain transportation and housing, and connect with others around the world from the comfort of our homes.