Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the development of technology, our lives have changed a lot. Some believe that with the high-tech, we are enjoying more convenience than before, while others argue that the advancement of technology also makes our lives become more complicated. I believe these two viewpoints are not mutually exclusive, and our lives nowadays can be both simplified and complicated.

It is easy to find that lifestyles in modern society are quite different from previous eras, and most of the changes should be attributed to the development of technology. Due to the internet communication, we can not enjoy online shopping and social networks. Besides, our living conditions are more convenient because of contribution from endless engineers. It is the technology that make us do not bother to think about some trivial stuff such as how to get to a destination or how do we cook a delicious meal, so we can spare more time on more valuable things such as study and work.

However, the development of technology sometimes makes us harder to choose among different options. Since we are not know more thoroughly about the world than our predecessors, thanks to the rapid development of science and technology, we are offered different choices when tackling problems. For example, if the restaurants around us are limited, we have no choice but to eat there, so we do not need to make choices on which one should be pick up as the place for a lunch. The development of technology not only make our lives more convenient, it also brings more possibilities to our lives. As a consequence, it really makes the decision making become more difficult.

Just realizing these two changes is kind of superficial, while actually being simplified and being complicated are not necessarily two contradicted ideas. What do we think when Albert Einstein discovered that the speed of light keeps a constant no matter what in which coordinates? Is it make our world more complicated to be understand? Probably not, because world is actually very difficult to understand, and if not him, we are just too stupid to realize how little do we know about the world. Then is he making the world more simple? I do not think so, since his theory is really hard for a common person to understand, even for a educated people who has acquired elementary knowledge about physics. In this sense, our lives have become both simplified and complicated.

In conclusion, I believe the impact of development of technology on our lives are not easy to be generalized by simplicity or complicity, rather, it could be both simple and complex.