There are two types of laws: just and unjust. Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and, even more importantly, to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Most of the people are of opinion that laws can be categorized into two types as fair and prejudiced and hence one must follow impartial laws and defy those which are biased. On the other hand, there are a few who believe that it is not possible for an individual to decide whether a law is equitable or not. I disagree with the author’s viewpoint to a great extent. My reasons for the same are detailed in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, it is impossible for an individual to dichotomize rules and regulations as just or unjust. It depends on human perception as to whether he sees the law as fair or not. For instance, rash driving is injurious to the health of people and hence laws have been made to proscribe them. While a judicious person may consider this logical, a reckless individual may oppose it vehemently. Moreover, laws are also made to protect the weak and poor sections of the society from the tyranny of the opulent and powerful people. If people are allowed to make amendments in the constitution, then there will be a large scale exploitation of the penurious people by the affluent section of society. An apt example of this is law made to eradicate child labour which will lead to the deterioration in the living conditions of children in case it is annulled.

The secondary reason why I fail to connect with the author’s belief is that without the presence of law and order there would be a situation of commotion and chaos across the nation. The violation of any sort of law will encourage the miscreants of the society to perpetrate a crime without any fear of punishment. As for illustration, an individual is required to pay a certain sum of his income as tax for the development of his country. If there are no rules made to reprimand the tax-evaders, then the putative culprit may easily escape the penalty required to be paid to the Income Tax department which will be unequitable to the denizens of the nation who diligently pay their taxes on time. Furthermore, the law and order also ensure that the peace and harmony are maintained in the society by efficiently evading any potential conflict that could happen between different sections of the society.

On the contrary, if the law precludes the growth of any community and has contradicts their moral values and beliefs then such laws should be abolished. However, people should not take matters in their own hand and must approach the judicial system of the nation in order to get the laws amended. The laws which discriminations on the basis of race, colour, caste, gender, status, religion etc. should be revoked in order to maintain equity in the society. The fight for the independence of India is an epitome of such kind of non-cooperation movement where people mustered together in large masses in order to get their freedom from the clutches of the British government.

Thus, to capitulate the discussion, I would like to assert that it should not be under an individual’s volition to follow only those laws which are perceived as impartial by him and ignore others. However, the laws which are detrimental to the morals and values of any section of society must be invalidated by the joint efforts of the government as well as the citizens of the nation.