There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

extinction of animal and plant species predates human. Ever since the formation of earth, the endangerment and evenutal extinction of species has been a cruel cycle. this would result in one to believe that there is very little justification for modern and captialistic society to make extraordinary efforts to save endangered plants and animals. And barring few execeptions, this notion is almost universally justifiable.

Today's world is a highly resource driven market. In the post industrialization world, factories require large amount of natural resources to satisfy an exponentially growing demand of finished goods. In this environment, a thought of saving endangered species would certainly result in huge economic and labour losses.

One such quientessential raw material is coal. coal is the raw ingredient required to run any a wide array of industries, from electricity generation, to processing steel, to desalination of water in deserts, coal is at the heart of all these industries. it also happens to be a material that needs to be dug out of ground, and is a very well known pollutant. Say in a nation, the largest coal reserve happens to be beneath a forest of endangered species. For the sake of preservation of flora and fauna, a nation declares that it would forbade the mining of coal from that reserve. Nevertheless, thee factories in that nation still require coal for their day to day functioning, and would hence need to import the same from other countries. this would mean a significant amount of revenue and jobs going to another nation that could have gone to a local coal mining firm and benifitted the government and its people, resulting a huge missed opportunity. if the nation would have agreed to allow mining in that region, those jobs and revenue would have gone to building new communites and possibly uplifting thousands from poverty.

However, in the same example, it is very important to note the value, monetary, ecological and social, of the trees being cut. if the trees are part of an ecosystem which directly supports another major industry, then it would be unwise to cut those trees to open up a mine. For example, if the said endangered tree is the only specie which can produce sap required to make rubber, then cutting those trees might result in strain of the local rubber industry. another cost would be its social cost, as in, do any local communities depend on the tree for any needs, be it for firewood or food? if yes, then a proper cost analysis should be conducted regarding its impact on the communitites, and the effected communities must be taken in confidence before any deforestation takes place. Thus, for species with high economic value, it would make sense to pour in resources to save and bolster them.

Thus, before deciding to dedicate resources and create laws protecting species, it is important to asses the impact of the specie in local area, and its economic value. if the value of the specie is high enough, then it would support the arugument of preseriving it. However, if ithe specie has no economic value as such, then dedicating resources and concurring loss of jobs for the same might be harmful for the economy of the nation in long run.