Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What kind of people leave behind legacies? What distinguishes people who are remembered in time? One of the common characteristics of such people is their ability to see what could be, beyond what is already existing. This is not an easy task, as they face criticism and jeering from the people who are unable to see what they are imagining. What separates really vsionary leaders from the rest is their ability to persist and lead their vision and ideas to a logical conclusion, while the rest of us might cave in to criticism and give up.

Ideas are something every one of us has on a daily basis. But there are only a few who are really able to take those ideas and build a lasting legacy for themselves. The traits that distinguish them from the rest are their ability to see what no one else is able to imagine, and their ability to persist with it even when people all around them are jeering them for it. One of the biggest entrepreneurial and cultural icons of our times is Steve Jobs. In the mid 2000s, he imagined a world where people will be using internet mostly from their hand-held devices and not bulky laptops. This was a time when smartphones were only considered the domain of business users, and no one really considered them to be useful for everyone from students to retired grandparents. The technology for such a device, which provided all the services of the internet along with the convenience and ease of use, did not exist. Their attempts at building such a device were mocked by their competitors and critics alike, saying that such a thing wasn’t achievable. Even if it was achievable, it wasn’t going to be popular. However, Jobs and his team imagined a different future. They persisted, and after multiple failed attempts, came up with the iPhone in 2007, which completely revolutionised how we communicate with each other. Jobs’ ability to persist with his vision and ignore the criticisms is what separated him and his company from his competitors, and etched his mark in human history forever.

The iPhone example also showcases how once the vision and the persisted idea becomes a reality, it offers the owner a position of leadership in the global scenario. This position of leadership inadvertantly ensures that their impact on humanity is long lasting. As a young boy, Bill Gates was writing computer programs when computers were isolated to a few research organisations. All of his batchmates at Harvard were working for high paying jobs in finance or insurance. He was mocked at for his interest in such a niche field, which no one imagined would be useful for the masses. However, Bill Gates’ vision of having everyone in the world use their personal computer led him to founding one of the biggest organisations in the history of humanity, Microsoft. Since then, a lot of other companies have also developed software, but no one can match the scale of microsoft because it ushered in a new era. This has led to Bill Gates being one of the richest men in the world till date, even after he donated much of his wealth for philanthropic causes.

While it is important to persist with your ideas, it is equally important to be able to discern when something is not working. As the popular aphorism goes, you can’t fight every dog on the streets. The ability to understand genuine criticism and pay heed to advice is an eqally important characteristic, which increases chances of success.

Lasting legacies are created by visionaries and leaders, who make the most impact on the human society. These people are able to see what no one else around them sees, and persist with their vision even when the going is tough. Their critics, unable to understand their visions, will criticise their actions. But the world only remembers those who persist despite these setbacks.