The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the

Art, the replica of man's thoughts, has been celebrated as diamond in a crown of every kingdom. Art has various forms like, painting, sculpting, architecture etc. The true greatness of a work of art relies on the massive audience it attracts. The work may be a painting or a sculpture, the more meaningful and eye catchy, the more it gets a place in the hall of fame.

To begin with, art can be defined as the replica of mankind. Every artist, induces his thoughts and imaginations into his work. Art is always an materialized form of human emotions and thoughts. For instance, men who lived in caves, used natural colors to draw what he sees and what he wanted to see. Though they seem to be mere doodles to us, many historians learned the evolution of mankind, from them. Thanks to the cavemen, their work of art was understandable.

Secondly, art was a source of entertainment before the invent of televisions and internet. So it had the need to reach a vast audience, and it would be authorized as a fine piece of art when it satisfies the tastes of people widely. The best example of a fine art, that stole the hearts of many art admirers, is the "Monalisa" of Leonardo Da Vinci. It is one of the aesthetic works of the legend, Leonardo Da Vinci. The intention of the painter was to picture a women with a mysterious smile and beauty that enchants the viewer with awe, and he also articulated his vision. The painting is still treasured by the Louvre, for its magnificence and it stays an inspiration for every artist to create their masterpiece like the "Monalisa".

To conclude, art being an emotion expressed through colors or shapes or any form, need to touch the lives of the people. Art work is considered great when, even a nomad feels the life in the work. Thus the work of art may be of any significance, but its greatness can be defined only when it is understood by massive audience.