To understand the most important characteristics of a country, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Major cities serves as a hub for infrastructural, economical, legal and various aspects of the country. These cities provide an overview of the country position as they reflect the country demographic, values, culture and where it stands on the development forefront. So, one can study the important characteristics of the country by reading and analyzing about its major cities.

All the business and industries are set up in the major cities. All the major exchange of trade of goods and services happens here and thereby contributing a significant proportion in overall gross domestic product. So by reading about the composition of the good and services that form part of the trade in these cities one can find out which sector i.e primary, secondary and tertiary are pre-dominant in the economic development of the country.

These cities serve as an attraction for the foreign investors as they are the major breeding ground for the business and thus providing home for various multinational companies. So by studying the proportion and percentage of these companies in relation to the national companies, one can know the foreign direct investment and their effect on the country.

These cities provide an ample amount of employment opportunities and thereby attracting the youth from the various other states .They represents a culture from their own state thus showing cultural diversity, own traditional values and customs. By analyzing the employment data from these cities the composition of men and women in the workforce, demographics of the country can be easily studied.

The major cities are the major indicator of the growth of the company in terms of the infrastructural development. The quality of education, facilities in the public hospital and the quality of the roads ,transport facility etc all this indicate the country stance on this aspect.

Thus major cities serves an indicator of the country performance and about its composition and diversity of people.