To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Societies are an amalgam of major cities and more rural areas that both provide information regarding its culture. Despite the existence of both, major cities offer the most information and are a must to study in order to distinguish the society’s primary characteristics. Since major cities are the centers of industrial growth and have densely packed populations, studying a society’s major cities is necessary to understand it.

The primary cities of a society serve as vessels for high-growth industries, which offer key insight as to how the society functions. Consider, for example, the current state of America. Many term this Internet revolution we’re undergoing the Information Age or the Age of Social Media. We can see why this is an underlying theme in our current culture by looking at the technological capital of the world and major city of San Francisco – the heart of the Silicon Valley. The Silicon Valley hosts many high-profile companies such as Facebook and Google and captures the trend the society is heading towards by being the center of up-and-coming companies such as Uber. By capturing these nuances, one can extrapolate the most popular themes in a society, while also being privy to the upcoming trends.

Moreover, major societies are densely packed with people; this density allows for the rapid spread of information and knowledge. When traveling to a foreign nation such as India, tourists will go to densely packed areas such Delhi or Bangalore to understand the culture. This tendency is caused by the gargantuan number of people that inform how the society functions as opposed to a rural farmland with less populace. Bangalore, by itself, has a greater population than the entire state of Oregon to describe Indian society. In a rural farmland of India, however, one may not encounter a single household for miles on end! Hence, not only will the sheer amount of knowledge in a major city be greater, but the rate at which this information propagates from individual to individual will be much faster. These qualities regarding the quantity and speed at which knowledge moves is a must to understanding a society, rendering major cities the epicenters of a society.

Despite the importance of studying major cities, one must also note that less urban areas also house valuable information regarding a society. Consider the American Midwest consisting of such few major cities, but having a large expanse of farmland and ranches. One cannot capture the ‘cowboy’ mentality or the massive farming and meat industry iconic to America without studying these areas. Additionally, these nuances are not found in major cities and will be missed by an individual solely looking at major cities. Therefore, there is value to studying less populated areas well since they also provide insight into a society’s culture.

A society’s major cities offer the most information regarding its key attributes. Not only are major cities the foundations of key industry, but they also have the most densely packed populace. Without knowing or acknowledging these factors, an individual will have failed to capture the key characteristics of a society and will not be able to understand its culture.