To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The perspective that studying major cities will provide the most important characteristics of a society aims to understand the bigger picture. When one thinks of a major city, the image that comes to mind is busy streets filled with people coming in and out of the city on a daily basis, skyscrapers everywhere, and intermingling of diverse cultures and backgrounds. While walking to work in a major city, one is likely to encounter business people, fashion designers, actors and actresses, engineers, fast food workers, etc. who may be Indian, Chinese or Russian; it is highly likely for one to encounter international visitors either on a business trip or who are simply touring the city. The range of inhabitants and visitors to a major city is large and diverse. Major cities in themselves are their own microcosm that is more representative of society than any small town alone.

The statement attempts to understand society through studying its major cities. This assumes that major cities encompass a more complete picture of society than small cities and towns. As a response to this statement, some may say this approach excludes many cultures and fails to understand social interactions among small cities and towns. One can argue if the goal of the study is to better understand important characteristics of society as a whole, it would be more accurate to study larger groups of people, such as those in major cities, because larger groups of people tend to include a larger range of diversity. For example, the chances that major cities do not have some representatives of the social interactions of small towns is unlikely. In the modern day and age where travel is as simple as going to Google and purchasing a plane ticket, it makes moving easy; thus, it is very likely that there are some people living in major cities that came from small cities and towns.

Given a study that selects the same number of samples from each city they study, the larger sample will be less biased than the smaller sample. For example, given a small town population size of 200 people and a major city of 1 million people, a study wants to randomly select 150 samples from each population and include those samples in the study. It would be expected that the 150 samples selected from a population of 1 million people would be more diverse than the the 150 samples selected from a population of 200 people. The small town would have a culture that results from close knit connections within the community meaning the samples would likely be very similar to one another. The large city on the other hand would have a diverse range of interactions and would be more useful in terms of understanding the most important characteristics of a society. The study on major cities would be less influenced by a single cultural group and way of thinking and instead capture a larger range of factors that contribute to the whole.

In addition, major cities capture more diversity which means people of diverse backgrounds unable to avoid interacting with various cultures. Understanding the blend of cultures and their interactions would be more beneficial because it provides insight on how people are able to put aside their differences and cooperate with one another to function as a society. Observing how peace is maintained among cultural differences within a major city is knowledge that is transferable to maintaining peace within an entire country. Without an understanding of how diverse cultures and backgrounds interact on a day to day basis, it is likely that a country will have constant internal battles.

By focusing on studying major cities, it is possible some cultures are not represented within major cities, but a majority of cultures will be represented. The most important characteristics of a society are determined by the largest contributions to society; the largest contributions to society tend to be from major cities. Major cities attract the best, the brightest, the poor, the rich, etc and bring together diverse cultures that must coexist with one another. Because of this attraction, major cities are further along in development compared to smaller towns. The current growth rates of major cities bring in more money hence they are able to support incorporating modern technology into the city and advancing the city as a whole. If major cities are ahead of small towns in terms of development, it becomes clear that they are representative of essential characteristics of society that allows its environment to thrive.