To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Studying the major cities of society reveals its most important characteristics. While major cities only represent a portion of an entire society, it does act as a centeralizing point for that area. Major cities will represent a good overview and summary of the surrounding societies.

Since major cities attract business and entertainment from the surrounding areas it can represent what that societies economics and interests are. If the major city has a lot of sport stadiums and concert halls it shows that that society heavily values sport and music. If the city has busy streets and densily packed skyscrapers it can show booming economic sucess and what that society excels in. If the society is doing well economically it will be seen in its major city. With more money comes galleries, malls, skyscrappers, entertainment, public amenities, and the look of everyday people.

Major cities attract people. People are attracted things they enjoy and things that they can relate to. Two of those things are religion and culture. When a culture or religion becomes large and influential enough to be an important characteristic it can be clearly seen when studying major cities. For example when studying a major city such as Los Angelos one can see the major characteristic of Asian influence in its society. While having a China town, Korea town, and Japan town it can be that there is a demand for such culture in that society.

Major cities are usually the epicenter of activity in a society. If the society is doing well economically, the major city will show it. If the society has a heavy influence due to religious or politically ideology it will be seen and represented in its major city. The chracteristics of society are created from the people or environment of that area. Since major cities are the centers of society, I beleive that the most important characteristics of a society can be learned from studying its major cities.