To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In order to acquaint oneself to a society, we need to visit and scrutinize its major cities because they provide valuable information about the culture and history behind the society, as well as the current trends of the society. However, I think it is not sufficient to only look at the major cities because small towns may also tell us important things about a society.

Admittedly, big cities are those places which have witnessed important events in the history of a society or function as critical financial and political centers. When people want to look into a society, they can visit its major cities, especially the historical sites or famous architectures. For example, if a visitor wants to understand the American society, he can go to Washington D.C. and take a tour around buildings like the Capitol Hill and the Lincoln Memorial. Having been to these places, he could understand the core values that the Americans in the past and at present believe in. Also, the modern skyscrapers and business centers can depict the development of the American society. However, one cannot see sites like these in small cities or towns in the US because they are relatively secluded compared the internationalized big cities.

Nevertheless, it is not sufficient to study the major cities. Sometimes small towns have rather significant places to see. What's more, one can talk the people in these small towns so that the people in this society can provide personal perspectives and helpful information to help an outsider understand the society. Yet in major cities the outsider will find it difficult to communicate with others because everything is fast-paced there.

Furthermore, the people in major cities may not truly reflect the image of a society. All the big cities are attracting new college graduates and labor from all over the world. These young people bring different cultures and values with them into a particular society, contributing something new to the culture of that society. As a result, if one only talks to people from the major cities, he can only see part of a society. Instead of restricting to major cities, he should visit other types of cities and even small neighborhood, and the people living in those areas may have lived there for many generations, thus reserving the traditions and values of the society.

Lastly, with the internationalization and modernization of the world, the major cities of many different societies are becoming similar as they all have, for example, central business districts, shopping centers and parks. Therefore, it is impossible to distinguish one city from another. If a person only studies the major cities, he may not be able to grasp the true image of a society.

In conclusion, it is essential for people to study the major cities of a society because they can gain knowledge about the present and the past of a society. Nonetheless, they need to delve into other cities as well, which allows them to gain a full understanding of a society from different perspectives.