To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When thinking about a country, one can’t help but think about the capital and other big cities. This is because these cities have wider diversity and larger population sizes, making them more prominent and relevant. A country’s major cities are therefore, a clear reflection of the most important characteristics of a society.

Big cities are melting pots of culture and people. When you study them, you’re able to asses a wider and more diverse sample size. When trying to understand important characteristics of the United States for example, you should focus on New York City, Washington D.C. and San Francisco. These cities have people from all over the country and due to their size and affluence, they have a greater impact on society as a whole. The most important characteristics, are also determined by the most influential people. The majority of the most influential people in a society tend to live in major cities. In most countries, politicians tend to live and work in the capital. This means that the government which encompasses elected officials from all over the country functions in one space. Major cities clearly represent the country’s most significant qualities.

Small rural populations may be neglected when only taking into consideration major cities. Even though the big cities are melting pots, they don’t generally posses significant representations of secluded rural populations. This can create a misguided or partial understanding of society. In Ecuador for example, there are small indigenous tribes which are secluded in the amazon. When only thinking about the capital, Quito and the other big cities, you neglect such an important part of the country’s value and history.

In order to understand a society, you can focus your learning on its major cities. It is a practical way that covers the majority of the population in focused target sample sizes.