To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The megacities of the many countries have now become the home to new migrants from other cities or countries. Few years ago this statement would have proved itself correct that is by just knowing the megacities of the society we could have understood the lifestyle, culture, religion , language , food etc. But due to rapid urbanisation and civilization people have started to move out of their native places. This scenario has now become common. I disagree to the above statement that only by knowing the megacities of the society we characterise it and I support my opinion with the following few reasons:

The megacities have now become home for the people of different basis , the people flee from their native places to these metropolitan cities in search of better life which may include better lifestyle which automatically comes from better earnings. Now a days there are plenty of opportunities for the talented as well as skilful people. There are so many other facilities also by which people get attracted towards these huge cities like good education , better medical facilities, better transport and moreover their talents are recognised and encouraged to pursue them. In amidst of all these chaos the nativity of that particular place is getting lost or is being erased from the society , as the natives may move out of the city or there may be some changes that is being brought into the society due to modernisation. In the earlier days people used to travel less and had very few facilities to travel that is the people had lesser modes of transportation.

But now a days due to advancement in the transportation system people can travel from one part of the world to any other part without much difficulty. The students tend to move to some other countries or cities to pursue higher education were they may get exposed to some new lifestyle , culture, language which may fascinate them and they may follow it also after going back to their home country. For example the city name Bengaluru in the state of Karnataka in India is supposed to be known to be the silicon valley of India and is also known as garden city of the country have now become the roof for many people who have come from various parts of India or from any part of the world. Due to rapid increase in the employment opportunities in the city , the city has been calling out people. Earlier in Bengaluru we used to find the Kannadigas ( the people of Karnataka ) but now we are easily able to find the people from adjacent states like Tamilnadu ,Kerala , Andhra Pradhesh , Telengana ( the southern states of India ) thus the example of Bengaluru may be the best way to showcase that it has become very difficult to find only natives of that particular region but also the people from different part of the world. Bengalurians ( the citizens of Bengaluru ) celebrate Diwali and also the Halloween which shows that new culture is being part of the city and the main advantage is that we get to know the different forms celebrations not only from our country or area but also from other places.

The only disadvantage of the mixture of cultures is that the natives may get fascinated towards the new festivities or celebrations and thus may neglect or show less interest to the old rituals or practices.The migration of the people has led to mixture of cultures , language , food style making the society more diversified and more attractive. It may not be possible to find the characteristic of that particular region in humungous cities but the culture has been retained in the villages or towns in that particular region. As people only move to the cities but the ratio of people moving to villages or countryside is not same hence these regions have retained their essence of beautiful culture that was earlier. To analyse the pattern of lifestyle or living in that particular area countryside would be the best way for observation than any important city of that particular province.

Thus some part of the country may still follow the practices or lifestyle that was being followed in the past ,and these people or group now constitute to be the minorities when in comparison to the other groups who do not follow the same leading to change the appearance of the region both internally and externally. Hence major cities should not be used as a parameter to understand the characteristics of that particular society.