Major cities represent the virtues, ideals and characteristics of a society, a state, or a country. The author makes this assumption in the prompt and states that one must study the popular and major cities to understand the important characteristics of the society these cities belong to. I disagree with this statement and would like to argue that a particular society functions as a whole, with commensurate importance to be given to all the cities of the society for the following reasons.

Major cities surely captivate the attention of critics analysing a particular society as they are colossal, renowned, economically wealthier and cosmopolitan. This does not mean that the smaller cities do not have any influence on the characteristics of the society. For instance, if we consider the country of India as a society, we can argue that the smaller cities of India have a substantial contribution to shaping India as the nation it is. The major cities of India like Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Kolkata have a western outlook to them and are considered as English-speaking countries of the nation. They have a fast-paced life, driven by avarice. The smaller cities of India on the other hand are more cultural, bucolic and the residents speak regional languages. The pastoral lands and peaceful life define these cities. Indeed India, due to the influence of these smaller cities is considered as a country of diverse culture and is the country with highest number of languages. Smaller cities, therefore, have a lot of influence on a society and must also be studied.

Studying only the major cities might not result in getting an overall picture of the idea for a society. For instance, the major cities might convey some idea but that idea might not hold water for the entire society. For example, in a particular state, the major cities might give an impression of industrialism and the critics would consider the state to be an industrial state. This might not be the case as the smaller cities, which together constitute the bulk of the state, might be agrarian and more agriculture focused. Another example which could be given is that when studying a particular state, the language used by the major cities of the states might be English but if the smaller cities are studied, it might be the case that the majority of residents are native language speakers and do not even understand English. Such a society cannot be termed as an English speaking society.

This is not to say that a lot of preference should be given to smaller cities over the major cities of a society. Major cities play an important and crucial role towards the outlook of a particular society but are not the sole entities to do so. Mumbai, a major city of Maharashtra, for instance is largely responsible about how the state of Maharashtra functions and takes decisions. It certainly has a huge impact on the state.

In conclusion, it cannot be asserted whether smaller cities or major cities are the only factors developing a society. It is important to consider both the type of cities when studying the characteristics of a particular society.