Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

I concede with the proposition that in today's contemporary society, people are more concerned about creating an appealing image instead of the reality behind that image. There are ample empirical pieces of evidence which would support this statement, as discussed below.

It is regrettable that with the advancement in technology, we are back-pedaling from the reality and moving towards a fake world. For many people, creating an absolute ‘perfect’ image is of paramount importance. The prime reason for such actions is due to the fact that they tend to compare themselves with others in every domain and always want to triumph the comparison. A current scenario of how the large population behaves on social media is the best example to underpin the statement.

Those who do not have a stunning life have a servile degree of inclination to not depict the truth. They often post pictures which constantly offer fake proofs about the amazing life they are living. This, according to their mentality, eradicates the fear that they would get excluded from those who apparently live the best life. Very few of us might have seen the pictures which depict the reality either depicting melancholy or cheerfulness. We are always shown the bright side of the coin even if it is fallacious.

Many people find themselves in depression because revealing the reality is not what the denizens of contemporary society usually do. Those who are busy creating their alluring image are the ones who are more concern about society’s perceptions rather than their own.

In the final analysis, I would say that in pursuit of happiness, one should always search for the reality instead of embracing the fantasy because the latter might give you pleasure, but its longevity would be dubious.