It is true that one should be aware of various academic disciplines in order to expand his vision and become truly educated. One's knowledge cannot remain restricted to one's own field of study or else he will not be able to analyze his knowledge with respect to the happenings in other related fields. However, the decision to acquire knowledge of academic disciplines other than their fields of study should rest with the students themselves. The recommendation that students should be forced to study subjects other than their fields of study is extremely unconvincing.

Students pursue their education for a limited amount in specific universities hence, they must gather the maximum within those few years of course duration. Learning about courses other than their filed of study will help if these are related to the course and well justified because something which is not relevant and will not help the student to grow is rather turn into a waste of time. Also, we need to understand that every student doesn’t possess the same type of dependencies and might be involved in part time work for making out their living expenses. For example, In USA a student can work for 20 hours in a week as part time inside the university. What if the student gets exhausted and he is not able to pursue the courses other than one’s in the curriculum?

It is a fact that students must appear for various tests to prove their capabilities in a particular subject. They are given admissions to various programs of study depending upon their performance in such tests. Therefore, will all students be able to study all subjects of the university level with equal ease? A student who has an aptitude for Biology may not be able to study Mathematics that easily. If he is forced to take a course in Mathematics, it might eventually turn out that he spends more time in studying Mathematics rather than studying Biology which is his main subject. Making the students study subjects other than their fields of study cannot be justified without assessing the aptitude of the students and their liking for the additional subjects.

In conclusion the only thing comes up is if the course is relevant, time efficient, and the student has good background knowledge on the course and may improve his functional skills he or she should always take these courses. Other than that if any educational institute imposes such courses it will definitely effect the students in multiple ways.