Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education has a significant bearing on one's field of career. After senior secondary school students choose the specific field they want to major in, for instance, Science, Arts, History, etc. The argument that universities should make it compulsory for every student to take a variety of courses which are not related to student's preferred field of study, is beneficial in some situations while it's not in others. I shall discuss both the views in detail with examples.

There is a possibility that many students who just got admitted into a university have not realiazed their passion and are not certain about a field in which they want to make a career. In that case the university must allow students to take a variety of courses so that they can explore and discover their passion. For instance, if a student who joined a university is confused whether he should make a career in Computer Engineering or Electrical Engineering, then he should be able to study both the subjects during initial years in the university so that he can make a decision.

On the other hand, it can be argued that since students have limited time to become proficient in their field of interest, it would best serve to take on those courses that would help them in the progress of their career in the long run. For example if a student is already certain that he wants to be a musician, then making that student study mathematics or science, is going to be useless as it would have no significant impact towards advancement in his career. Instead, the time he could have used to take other courses in music, would be wasted as a result.

There's a saying which goes like 'Jack of all trades, master of none'. It is used to describe people who know somewhat about everything but are not skilled at something specific. Employers in each sector would definitely prefer someone who is exceptionally good at their job. If students study varied course in university, there are chances that they would not be able to focus on mastering in a specific field, but are inclined towards knowing a little about all fields. This could have a negative impact on one's career.

To sum up, we can say that making a student forcefully study a variety of courses would serve no useful purpose most of the times. So universities should instead, allow students to study subjects which would directly be related to their field of study. In case a student is not sure about his interests, then the universities should have a way that allows them to explore and find their passion. But in no way should they make it compulsory to take a variety of courses outside their interests.