Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim that every student should take courses outside their field of study is not entirely feasible. While it may seem very appealing at first because exposing the student to various subjects may at surface look like expanding their options it may cause more harmful effects than good.

Firstly,one should understood that the University education is one of the crucial phase of a student's life. He/she should be carefully moulded during this period. Thus focus is very significant.

According do many psychological and scientific studies, focus on single area renders undivided attention which allows mastery over the subject to produce world class results. The same studies suggest that providing a person with more than one option confuses them and scatters their focus.

For example,if a student is a physics major and he is forced to take philosoh or music because of universiy's requirement, he might be wasting time fumbling with the keyboard when he could have been developing theories for blackhole. One should understand that time is not unlimited. University education is a huge factor is determining the future of majority of the youth of the nation who are the potential citizens determining a country's economy.

So, a curriculum designed for a university has larger impact than anticipated.

Moreover, it is also possible for the student to lose interest in the area of their interest if the university makes a mandatory rule for him/her to take courses outside their field.This occurs because the energy and willpower are exhaustible sources. They have to be carefully utilised. Imagine, what would have happened if great leaders, innovators and thinkers were forced to take subjects that they did not enjoy. It can cause many detrimental effects.

Thus nurturing a student's passion and desire is very important. Making him/her to go in their way an helping them realise their dreams is the role a University education should play.

Having said that, one should also remember that widening the horizons of students by exposing them to variety of subjects may give them many more options. There are many instances where a scientist has had an epiphany because of his involvement in another field. But careful analysis of risk benefit ratio should be done.The results interdisciplinary research has given cannot be ignored but that is also possible by collaborating experts from every field. Also, to make a student aware of him/her options, he/she should be introduced to as many as subjects possible at school level which will help them decide their grad school choices.

In conclusion, there is no denial that including other course may be beneficial but focus in one area at a time provides much better results. If he/she wishes to switch fields it can be done after attaining mastery in one subject. Lastly the proverb 'Jack of all trades Master of none' has a slightly negative connotation and is scientifically proven to yield sub standard results.