Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

As the saying goes “Knowledge is Power”, knowledge is beyond physical strength and wealth. Thus, said Students have to acquire as much as knowledge during the learning period. While the student’s major field of study is demanding, engagement of student in a variety of courses is equally important. Learning from multidisciplinary subjects gives the student, the opportunity to widen his knowledge. To be competitive and successful in these days, one must be multi-talented.

In the modern world, career paths are inter-dependent. For example, a pharmacologist who deals with lots of data from his/her research studies uses statistics and data modeling, software tools to interpret and present data. So in this case, it helps the person if has some intermediate knowledge of software and computer applications. Even though the students major in pharmacology, it would be beneficial if an additional computer or software courses are taken. The same applies to almost all the fields.

Any company would like to save money and time, so they would like to hire a candidate who has exposure to a range of skills. It helps them to select a single candidate in place of two for different skills. For instance, they expect a software programmer not only to code but also have designing knowledge. Hence, the universities should take this big step in making the students understand how it helps them to have a lucrative and rewarding career.

Although, it may seem for the student that taking up other courses distracts him/her from the major field of study and unable to spend quality time for the same, but studying as part of the curriculum makes the student concentrate on those courses as well as major field of study so Pros outweigh cons in the long run. Universities can make these varieties of courses available through the elective courses. Also, universities should make students life easier by providing them the best and experienced staff members who create interest in them to study in an "enthusiastic" way. One other thing the student will be reluctant in taking up extra courses is Cost. If the universities can provide discounted rates or any kind of financial aid for these courses; then, this will initiate the students consider taking up other courses.

In conclusion, interdisciplinary education helps the student to understand various subjects. It makes them well trained for different careers in the future. It would be easy for them to converse with fellow colleagues and higher officials if they have knowledge about what they know about the subject. There is no limit to learning. It continues throughout our life. And students must make the best use of this learning phase to broaden his skills. Thus, there is no harm than good if the universities require students to take courses outside one's major field of study.