Study plays vital roles in students’ universities life, someone emphasizes the importance of a broad range of course, and including those courses that outside the field of students’ majors. However, although it is beneficial for students to take a broad of courses outside the field of study, it can also be a burden, distracting students from learning their core courses. Thus, the universities should suggest every student take a broad of courses instead of the requirement.

Someone would argue that students who take a broad range of courses, can be more competitive in the job interview, for the unrelated courses can enrich their knowledge and broaden their horizon. Indeed, by learning other courses closely related to their majors, they can consolidate their understanding of knowledge in their field. For example, by taking the polymer science courses, a student major in organic chemistry can have a deeper understanding of the chemical reaction and chemical application. However, this situation is only suitable for the intelligence students that have a lot of spare time to study another course, for those regular students, since they don’t have enough spare time, choosing another field of class can be a burden to them.

For the regular students, if they spend a lot of time to study the unrelated courses, they will not have enough time to focus on their core courses, let alone the poor students. Using the same organic chemistry major student as an example, if he/she spends a lot of time on computer science class, he/she may not have enough time to finish their task in their advanced organic chemistry class. To catch up with other students, they have to sacrifice their time for rest to memorize the organic reaction and memorize the mechanism of each reaction. Not only the sleep-deprivation way can cause a lower efficiency of study, but also they do not have enough time to understand the knowledge.

In my opinion, learning courses outside of one’s major can be a benefit for the top students who have a lot of spare time to study. But it can also be a catastrophe if it takes up too much time for these courses. Students should be encouraged to take a variety of courses outside the field of study instead of a requirement. For top students, they can consolidate their knowledge as well as broaden their horizon, through which can make them more competitive in the following job hunting. On the other hand, for the regular students and poorer students, focusing on the major courses is their best chance to keep up with the top students.

In conclusion, even if taking a variety of courses can be beneficial to some students, it cannot be a requirement for every student. University should suggest students take a variety of courses and give more guidance when they choose the courses that outside their field of study.