As the use of technology increases, human's ability to think for themselves will surely decrease.

As an engineering student, I strongly disagree with the above statement. While the ability to think for one's self may decrease in some cases, I think in more cases technology gives people access to a very wide range of information that can be used to solve unique problems.

In engineering school, I have been given many problems in the form of final projects, labs, and reports. Instead of turning to technology to automatically solve this problem for me, I turned to technology to provide information that I could later apply to solve the unique problem. For example, I was given a final project where I had to implement a technology that was not taught in the class's lecture. Instead of using technology (the internet) to copy another's project, I used the internet to gain knowledge on the technology that was not taught in the lecture, and I then later used that knowledge to implement the piece of technology required for the project without any help from the professor. Many other students in the class also used the same approach to learn about the piece of technology that was required for this project.

While there are some people who do rely on technology to provide answers to their problems, there are more people who take technology, learn about it, and use it to solve their own unique problems. This is what engineering has been about since it's conception. A brief look around one's life proves this. For example, the automobile was created because people could not get around fast enough with the horse and buggy. This leap in technology did not cripple society as the prompt suggests, however; it created the future engineers who design motor vehicles and the mechanics who fix them. We also see the same thing with cell phones and the internet. These pieces of technology give people access to an enormous base of information. Many people now learn about whatever they want without leaving the comfort of their own home. This can be seen in the many young programmers who, with a simple Google Search, learn a programming language from their bedroom. This is also seen with the cooking enthusiasts who can access to online tutorials to sharpen their cooking skills, or the engineering students applying online information to solve unique problems. Even knowledge about more specialized topics, like visual effects, can be acquired through a simple Google Search.

It is clear that technology is not deteriorating human's ability to think for themselves, but it is opening up a world of applicable information to those who are willing to learn.