Understanding how to manage money is a skill that should be learned early in life. By learning and adopting healthy spending and saving habits, people naturally have a much smoother transition into the piling responsibilities that adulthood brings. Those who are sheltered and babied by their parents from early childhood and into their teenage years will certainly have a much harder time getting accustomed to the sudden increase of responsibilities and are more prone to feel overwhelmed and stressed about having to deal with bills, taxes, and debt.

Even though learning the value of money and how to handle it is important, there is a fine line between teaching how money works in the society we live and how it affects our lives and those around us and teaching children that money is the only way people know how to define social success. The ultimate goal is to ease children into the transition of becoming adults and handling their lives and budgets and not to instil toxic behaviours and thoughts that would link their self esteem to material goods.

The way the value and proper handling of money is taught should be through a perspective of personal growth and practical use and not through the lense of surpassing the people around you. The superficial and materialistic way of seeing money actually promotes erratic spending and loss of control because this person has been taught that social success is linked to having more expensive material things. A person who believes this won’t truly understand the value of money, they only understand the importance of showing others they are more successful. This is why is makes no sense to teach children that the value of money is linked to social success.

Children who learn about the value of money in a way that promotes personal growth and control, will naturally become curious about personal financing and budgeting, which is where the real benefits come in. Once these children reach early adulthood with a skill set and habit of keeping track of expenses and income, they will not only avoid a rocky transition into adulthood but they will have the opportunity to further their financial knowledge and propel towards a future where money is not a constant worry in their lives.