We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

The issue of if we learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own as disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that a human being learns more from people whose views contradict our own, because we learn the other side of the story about issue which makes us to draw a better conclusion and may be share empathy with them. Everything in world is not black and white, there are grey regions too.

Like every coin has two sides, so is with every issue. We are sometimes more biased to choose a side because of our own assumptions and prejudices and are not aware of the other side of view. Everything in the world is not black or white, good or bad, there are some issues which are in the grey zone and without understanding the other we won't be able to make a good judgement. If we only interact with the people who share our views we will be just satisfying our ego and prejudices, without actually understanding the issue in holistic approach.

Secondly, what if we are not aware about the facts properly and our conclusion is based on inchoate reasons.To illustrate, let us suppose government is purchasing few acres of farm land from farmers to make a new airport and due to this there are processions, hunger strikes by farmers. Now, without actually understanding the other side of issue, you are supporting the government decision to build the airport as it will be good for city economically and give you a better transport to travel. But what if we try to understand the other side as well, how this will affect the poor farmers. Discussing it with the people who supports the other side will surely help you learn more and make a better conclusion. Perhaps the social and economic surveys shows that these farmers are uneducated and unskilled and don't have other mode to earn their living and a better way out will to shift the airport to some other part of city.

Some may argue that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning. This depends upon the person you are debating with, how logically soundness of his/her reasons, whether he is shouting or putting his points properly. A good debate never cause stress, it can only increase your learning and make you conclude better.

In conclusion, a logical and learned person have an obligation to understand the other side of view which makes them better equipped to conclude and make a decision. For these reasons, we can learn more from the people whose views contradict our own.