We venerate loyalty – to our schools, employers, institutions, friends – as a virtue. Loyalty, however, can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one.

The word 'loyalty' is almost always used with a positive connotation. It refers to faithfulness to an individual, a group of individuals or any organization. As long as this faithfulness in limited and conditional i.e. it meets non - deviant terms and conditions, loyalty stands as a virtue and is bound to reap dividends. However, when the individuals turn to excessive and unconditional loyalty, it can be just as detrimental. This dual nature of loyalty holds true in an array of settings, environments and social relationships including schools, financial institutions and friendships.

The veneration to loyalty begins from early phases of human development which take place at educational institutions. At schools, children are taught to be loyal to their teachers, the rules and regulations of the school, parents etc. Conforming students are rewarded and the non - confirming ones are penalized. While such penalization may be genuine, excessive enforcement of loyalty may prove detrimental. For instance, a student may be suffering from health conditions such as schizophrenia that limits his/ her loyalty to the school. In such a situation, veneration of loyalty won't pay. Instead, an empathetic approach would be a more logical course of action. This is not to discount the importance loyalty in a normal situation. One cannot deny the fact that inculcation of loyalty in children is an essential tool for effective socialization of individuals.

Besides schools, the duality of adherence to loyalty is displayed at institutions such as financial ones. On one hand, legitimate faithfulness to an employer is bound to be beneficial in the form of bonuses, promotion, perks etc. On the other hand, if an employer is loyal to a corrupt employer, he may end up being an accomplice in the employer's corrupt practices - only out of loyalty - he is sooner or later bound to get in trouble such as payment of fines, serving of jail term etc.

The dual character of faithfulness is just as prominent in social relations as it is in schools and on professional front. For instance, an individual may exhibit loyalty to a friend whom he knows is involved in deviant practices such as drug addiction, smoking, theft etc. His loyalty may lead him to involvement in the aforesaid practices which in turn would have a detrimental effect on the individual on multiple fronts. On the contrary, in case of friendship between conformist individuals, loyalty can lead to a healthy and enriching social life.

In conclusion, loyalty is essentially dualistic characteristic. It would be myopic to view it from a positive lens only. While it certainly has benefits in a normal setting, its equally detrimental nature can certainly not be ruled out. Thus, one must choose to be loyal to an individual or an entity with utter caution and care.