The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The society is greatly affected by the decisions the authorities make. However, as the duration of the authorities holding power extends, there is a high possibility that they could get obscured with reality and start utilizing power regardless of the public's desire. I believe that people should always be cautious with the decisions authorities make in order to enhance the society's well-being.

First of all, being an authority provides the power to control and affect the society. If it is used for selfless purposes, it may benefit in increasing the people's welfare. However, it is also extremely difficult to resist the compelling desire to facilitate such power for selfish and greedy purposes, such as manipulating people in order to fulfill their vainglory. If people constantly challenge and question the authorities about the decisions they make, it would forestall them in stepping out of line. I would like to mention one of the former presidents in South Korea. For three years, she had used her authoritative power to found ghost companies that provided financial support for the government. The public had invested in the companies believing it must be reliable and would provide profitable success. However, people started questioning the whereabouts of the companies' locations and whether it really was an actual company. As this suspicion attracted more people, the public started questioning the purposes of the president's usage of power. Her actions started to be perceived dubious and legal authorities started searching for evidences that the president was utilizing power for her own selfish needs. Eventually, her transgressions rose up to the surface, leading her getting arrested and being sentenced to jail. If people weren't constantly questioning and challenging the authority, such truculent behavior would have continued until this day.

Furthermore, people always being suspicious of the authority's usage of power enhances the effect of the public in affecting the society. If people are not discerned with the policies, then it would be providing authorities the opportunity to start neglecting the public's desires. However, if the public is always cautious of all the actions the authorities make, the authorities would have to provide germane policies regardless of their will, in order to maintain their current status, which would lead to enhancing the public's welfare. For example, Google, which is known to be the number one prestigious company nationwide, has all eyes and ears of the world overlooking the CEO's decision. Due to this, even though the CEO has selfish purposes, it is immensely difficult for him/her to weasel out of their suspicious glances and pursue their greedy needs. Consequently, the CEO created many policies that enables the employees to work in encouraging environments and ensures that they are taken well care of. Because people were cautious and dubious about the authorities in their usage of power, the CEO had to fulfill the requirements of the people's desires which led to making Google one of the best companies people would like to work for.

To sum up, having people constantly being cautious and questioning the authority inhibits them from exploiting power for certain malignant needs and increasing the discern in providing better policies for people. Due to such reason, I believe many people should question the authority and increase the well-being of the society.