The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A well structured society is defined as a society having an equality both socially and politically. Although having political equality might seem somewhat utopian, nonetheless, there are ways a society can be peaceful and contented. To resolve this paradox, it is crucial, that there should be some way of keeping a check on the governing body and constantly deviate it from the path of collusion. I, thus, strongly feel that a society can progress on the path of well-being and development if the authority is put in question by the people. Below are the reasons that explain my position regarding the previous statement.

Any task that we undertake requires a feedback system, with the help of which we can retrospectively keep an eye on our performance or any mistakes that we are making as we go through and it also helps to improve the efficiency of our work. For example, various companies in the IT industry adopt the method of agile development which consists of 3 to 4 weeks of development depending upon the type of project and 1 week for retrospection. This week is solely devoted in determining the strengths and weaknesses of the team, what went wrong and where things can be improved. This not only saves the company time, but also valuable resources by avoiding repeating the same mistakes again. Similarly, we can apply this point of view on the social system. Every society and its corresponding governing body should have a feedback system inculcated in the societal structure. This feedback system can be formed by a considerable amount of people questioning the work of the concerning authority.

Due to this, the governing body can actually understand the needs of the people. Many a times, an authority develops its own agenda, or a set of goals that the body wishes to achieve during their tenure. Where most of them get wrong is the realisation of the fact that actual needs of the people can differ from the agendas of the authority, no matter how tempting they might be. By attending to the issues of the people, the government can not only prioritize appropriate tasks at the appropriate time, but also, save a lot of money, resources and time. This can ensure the well-being of the citizens while maintaining an efficient governmental work-flow.

On the other hand, if no constraints are levied upon the governing body, it might form a monopoly and do what is in its interest rather than helping the society. Many cases of collusion, corruption, bribery might engender just because of the fact that there is no one to question the authority of the body. In time, the situation might only get worse as the government would only aggrandize itself and after that point, questioning the government will simply be intangible. Thus, it is very crucial for the existence of a feedback system.

Many may argue that questioning the authority by majority of a society can lead to constant quarrels and heated environment all the time. But, this is a flawed argument as questioning an authority doesn't mean always quarrelling and fighting. There are many different ways of keep a check on ill-activities of the government, such as usage of social media. As a powerful tool as it is, it can very much keep the governing authority on the right track and prevent it from conducting any mishaps.

Thus, in conclusion, I strongly believe that there should be people to question the governing authority which can most definitely improve the status and well-being of the society.