While some leaders in government, sports, industry, and other areas attribute their success to a

well-developed sense of competition, a society can better prepare its young people for leadership

by instilling in them a sense of cooperation.

Education is essential to the process of building a state and creating members of society, who serve society in the future. Content and curriculum are some of the most important factors for parents deciding where to send their children. If a nation required all of its students to study the same national curriculum until entry into college, it would be largely disadvantageous. While a standardized curriculum would equally prepare people equally, the skills that a child needs through an education coudl vary from district to district. For example, a more variety and flexibility in curriculum can be beneficial to students who prefer more independence in studying their own content. Another problem in this policy would be deciding how to make a one-size-fits-all curriculum that would be beneficial to the public.

Firstly, a national curriculum for all would not work because students from different districts have different backgrounds and may want a curriculum suited to their history. For example, a Chinese neighborhood in Chicago may want to adjust its curriculum to be more tailored towards people of a Chinese background. Chinese families might want to put their children into programs where they can learn Chinese history or perhaps Mandarin. If a policy were adopted where the national curriculum dictated that students could only learn German as a foreign language, this would make Chinese families in Chicago more reluctant to have their children studying under the national curriculum.

Secondly, changing the curriculum to a standardized one could create an unfair disadvantage for some students. It has been demonstrated in research, that students who are in a more flexible curriculum with more variety perform better. This is because some students are not able to engage with topics or themes that do not interest them. If student is a passionate artist, but are forced to take music, which they hate, this could create an unfair disadvantage for that student. A student should therefore be able to have a flexible curriculum available or have a choice to attend a school with a different curriculum to cater their interests.

Lastly, finding an perfect curriculum that covers all the needs of students in one nation would be impossible. Again, the need of each student would be different, as each student is naturally predisposed to have certain skills. If a national curriculum was created there would certainly have to be limits in terms of what is provided in the said curriculum. The limitations created by this curriculum could be harmful to students who hope to apply within certain college programs. For example, a student who is studying engineering might need to study physics and chemistry to get into a certain program, however if the curriculum states that they are limited to one science this could be signficantly disadvantageous.

Overall, it is clear that a national school curriculum would be significantly disadvantageous for all students. Rather, variety in curriculum should be emphasized and provided to offer students the highest standard of education possible. As seen by the examples above, designing a curriculum that fits all students could create several problems. The limits of such a system could cause parents to not send their children to schools with this curriculum. A less flexible curriculum would be unfair to students who thrive on creativity and more options. Finally, a fixed curriculum would only create a certain student profile, which would prevent students from having the freedom to pick their future.