Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

There has always been controversy about what type of curriculum should be given in schools and whether or not it should be universal. Many states even have their own laws on what can, cannot, and must be taught in their respective schools. Not to mention private schools, which may follow a unique cirriculum unlike the majority of schools. The question at hand is if some students are at a disadvantage due to not learning what another school may teach. It is definitely important that students recieve a well rounded education. What may prevent it from being universal is the fact that students learn at different paces and have many different intrests. It would be impossible to make a cirriculum ubiquitous throughout a nation without harming the learning of students due to factors such as learning curves and intrests. Having a universal cirriculum can be detrimental to students due to the different paces at which students learn. While one student may be advanced in one area, they may be weak in another. This is why there are schools that specialize in different subjects. There is also the example of learning through means of visuals, auditory, and physical touch. While one student may have a really tough time learning through direct communication, they may excellently through visual means. So on and so forth. There are hundreds of combinations of cirriculums and learning styles that can be optimal for certain students and deterimental for others. The objective is to find what works for each and every individual. With flexibility within a cirriculum, teachers can help students adapt and meet their learning needs. Another issue with a universal cirriculum is that it will be far more difficult for students to explore their intrests/talents and find their niche. Being bound to a generalized education system with no option for individual choice can most definitely lead to students that miss out on what they really want to do. Take this example, not going too in depth into the cirriculum, if it required students to complete no more and no less than 6 hours of math, 6 hours of english, 4 hours of history, 4 hours of physical education, 2 hours of art, 2 hours of music, etc. Now we have a student who has a natural talent for art, this student will be limited to that two hours that the cirriculum allows. However, if there was flexibility within the cirriculum this student could potentially find a school that specializes in art and can help them hone in on their talents. One may argue that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national cirriculum due to many schools having bad student outcomes. While this may seem like a good, quick-fix, while it may help certain students, it will most definitely harm others. Because again, a specialized education tailored to a students needs is absolutely vital to that students potential of sucess. A way to solve this issue of negative student outcomes could be to fix them from the inside. By that I mean professionals from within the government can enter these schools and determine the best course of action to improve the welfare of such students. There are many resolutions available, a generalized one however, would do more harm them good.