Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While hiring outside consultants is a tactic used by many companies over and against listening to their own employees, the dichotomy set up by this prompt is a false one. Companies do not have to choose between listening to their own employees or hiring consultants, because each way has its own benefits and deficiencies for increasing efficiency within a company. In order to increase efficiency in a company, it will likely be most beneficial to use both consultants and employee feedback.

With respect to listening to employees, one finds insight from within the company. The manager of a company will hopefully know everything under his or her care, and for that reason be able to give good feedback whether something is inefficient. The secretary will have his or her own perspective, and, if a company uses all of these variegated perspectives from within the company, the company should get a well rounded understanding of the company in each part as well as for the whole. While a consultant is supposed to be able to understand the company very well, the one who has been working at the company for decades will likely know the ins and outs better. There is another important benefit that is easily missed, however. When one requests feedback from the employees themselves and not from a consultant, the gives the employees opportunity to be heard and to vent their frustrations with certain methods or regulations that seem redundant. Even if their complaints are wide of the mark, the very fact that a company requests their own employees to give them honest feedback is itself helpful for two reasons. Firstly, this will make the employees feel more respected and make them feel like they are part of an organized team rather than part of a coldhearted corporate America. Secondly, having the employees reflect on the companies methodologies and cotidian activities will give them the ability to think through whether something they are doing is inefficient; however, if they were never asked about their activities (or worse, if it were imposed upon them in a patronizing and paternalistic way), then it would be less helpful for the individuals in the company. Ultimately, asking the employees will be helpful, but it cannot be the full picture of a company's review of itself.

With respect to hiring consultants, one finds a holistic and broad approach. A consultant's job is to review the efficiency of a company, and so a good consultant will know exactly which parts of the company to probe and where common parts of the company fall short usually. This background in looking at company efficiency will help bring in one more piece of the puzzle. Furthermore, the consultant will be able to scour the whole company rather than just one small part, and this broader understanding of the company will help balance out the understanding of better and worse apsects of the company; this is in contradistinction to the individual employee who might find a certain form redundant and inefficient because he or she does not know that this particular form leads to something important the he or she just does not know about. Consultants also have a fresh perspective on the company which can be very helpful, becuase things which should be changed can become commonplace for employees who are in a very solidified routine. However, The consultant, not having a personal stake in the company, will also not be able to appreciate the implementations that were put in based on the consultation. This, of course, could lead to incorrect implementation.

When one considers an organism, one must consider the parts and the whole. The individual employees will be able to look at the individual parts and the consultants will be able to look at the whole. Analogously, the defense system of a body does not render a doctor's help unwarranted, while the doctor does not render the immune system irrelevant. Consultants are not inimical to feedback of employees -- both are beneficial in helping run the company. In order to ultimately help the organism of a company, one must consider all aspects from all angles, and two helpful way to do that are through employee feedback and through consultants.