The best way for a government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transportation 24 hours 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of society, government is facing increasing problems. This essay will analyze why providing free public transportation 24-7 cannot solve the traffic congestion.

First of all, providing free transportation can not solve the traffic jam. There are lots of costs involving in this industry, including the cost of vehicles, maintenance, scheduling, etc. If public transportation is going to be free, massive taxation would be required to balance the free service. It would not only increase the financial burden of the citizen, but also be unfair for those who merely take buses or subways. Thus, it is nearly impossible for the authority to set transportation free. In addition, free transportation does not alleviate the congestion. Take Beijing for example. The subway in Beijing has a fixed price of ¥2 however long you travel. Personally speaking, it is pretty much free, but in rush hours the subway is always congested with tons of commuters.

What’s more, providing traffic service 24 hours 7 days a week is also unable to solve the problem. Actually, it is unrealistic to do that. Since there are only a little proportion of commuters who get up at night for work, it is not necessary to provide transportation at night for every route. Running the service 24 hours 7 days a week only increase the financial burden of the government, and will finally lead to the massive taxation. It may be more efficient if the government arrange more transportation in rush hours instead.

All in all providing free public transportation does not solve the problem of traffic congestion. Hopefully the government would came up with a talent idea to solve the problem of traffic jam effectively.