Government should not have to provide financial report for elderly people because it is responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Whether governments should undertake the responsibility of sustaining senior citizens has been a hot topic. I completely disagree with the idea that elderly people should receive no support from the state.

First of all, it seems heartless that governments leave older people alone to cope with their lives, as those who are getting old have contributed to the prosperity and rapid development of the nation when they were young and productive. I addition, everyone pays taxes to their governments, hence, citizens definitely have right to enjoy the benefits generated by that. Accordingly, governments have the duty to provide care and financial support for elderly people by allocating funds and resources to improve national pension system and build more nursing house.

Besides, governments may lose their reputation by providing with nothing to senior citizens who are unable to serve the society and other people anymore. It also could make the relationship between the countries and citizens become tense. People are likely to consider and manage to migrate to other countries who provides better welfare for their elderly citizens.

At last but not least, although I accept that we all have a responsibility to save money for retirement, it cannot be a justification of government to refuse to help and support to elderly citizens. Because not all people have so high-income that they can save enough money to cover their health care and residential care service in their rest of live or maintain their standard of living as their used to be. Thus, it is governments' responsibility and obligation to care for their elderly citizens' live rather than watch them become beggars.

In conclusion, I believe governments should take relative actions and proper policies to support elderly people.