Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?What other measures do you think might be effective?

In today’s world, the number of car users has increased significantly since the engine technology has been invented. With the congested traffic in many cities, it becomes a serious issue that scientists and environmentalists are trying to solve this problem these days. Some people think that increasing the cost of gasoline is the best way to tackle the over traffic and pollution problems. However, there also are other effective measures for this issue.

To begin with, I do not totally agree with this statement. Even though I believe that the high cost of petrol can decrease the number of car drivers, I do not agree that this measure is the most effective way to alleviate traffic and environmental problems. This is because even if increasing the cost of gasoline, the demand of car using may still not decreased because the most of people require using car for transportation.

However, there are some other measures that could be effective for easing these problems. Promoting people to use public transportation is another effective way to decrease the number of cars on roads. Providing free charge of public transportation or improving services should be done by the government. Moreover, the city should encourage people to avoid using private cars and adjust to cycling or walking instead. Subsidizing budgets on developing pathways for pedestrians can also persuade people to walk or use a bike.

In addition, in term of environmental problem, the development of engine also can help this issue. With the high technology of mechanic, technological vehicles these days can consumes alternative fuels or electricity and release less pollution. Consequently, the total of toxic gas will be minimized and the quality of air improves eventually. This is another measure which alleviates pollution problems from vehicles.

In conclusion, even though increasing the price of petrol is an effective way of traffic and pollution issues, other measures such as developing technological engine or encouraging people to walk or cycling are also good ways to tackle this problem. Hopefully, by doing this, the issue of congested traffic and polluted air can be eased, eventually.