Must Tax be Paid?

The regulation to pay tax to the country faces some controversies. Each person has own opinions about this case, either supporting or not supporting.

There is a principle which underlined the compulsion of tax collecting. It is benefit-principle which means all citizens get benefits from that payment while the government’s duty is to build facilities like road, hospital, and school which are addressed for those citizens by using that finances. Furthermore, as Indonesia has a very complex form of geography and demography, the development of infrastructure is quite complex and needs too much financing. Those become the reasons why there must be tax, as it is the largest source of financial support.

In contrast, many people argued that fiscal regulation in this country is inappropriate as we are wealth of natural resource. Unfortunately, that resource is not supported by high quality human resources while it has been recognized that to receive finances from the natural resources we needs a trained person to manage them. The limited skill we have is the second reason why we must pay tax. In addition, the councils of this country are not brave to exploit the natural resources as the only source of country’s income because in one day later it must be exhausted. Another reason why many people refuse the tax payment is because there are many governments doing corruption on that money, as the consequence the citizens feel really exasperating on it.

Overall, although there are many reasons to stop the tax payment, it will still be required persistently as the need of Indonesia of financial support for its development project is still very big.