The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. What extent do you agree or not?

Congestion and pollution from means of transportation are big problems in cities. Whether or not diminishing the need of people to travel to decrease the amount of traffic has provoked a controversy. Some people hold the opinion that it is the merely method. Opponents, conversely, argue that it is not effective remedy. From my perspective, I am more inclined to the latter view on the ground of the following reasons.

On one hand, it is believed that when people’s demand for travelling to work, education or entertainment is decreased, the large number of traffic means are not necessary. With the internet, people are possible to talk with friends, family or study without travelling. However, hardly do people encourage a society lacking of movement. In a recent research, scientist revealed that people may suffer obesity, cardiovascular related diseases or become “ coach potatoes” due to this lifestyle. Children’s interact skills are also dramatically fallen.

On the other hand, technology and government’s actions handle better to this trouble. By banning cars and trucks in particular streets and hours, traffic jam in big cities are feasible to solve. For instance, in Hanoi, taxi cars are banned in many roads in rush hours, followed by a large space for motorbikes and cycles. Furthermore, cutting edge technology gives a favorable condition to enhance environment’s issues. Not only reducing fuel’s consumption, modern cars are projected to alter their energy supply to electricity or wind energy, as a result, eliminating contamination.

All things considered, although reducing the need for residents to travel is a good way to decrease the amount of traffic, it is temporary. Technology and governments’ policies are key for this challenge.