Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Nowadays football world cup and Olympics constitute major events worldwide. These competitions are considered as a method for decreasing strains between countries. Perhaps there are two views regarding this issue. Personally I believe that these global games play an important role in the approximation among nations.

In the one hand sport has the ability to make the entire world communicate with each other peacefully. In fact sense of patriotism could be expressed in a lot of ways; unfortunately most of them are conflicts. To put it simply international sporting occasions make any country’s citizen feel loyalty to his own country without the compromise to other nationalities.

Furthermore, Olympics and world cup help to relieve stresses and strains. All audience from all over the continents travel to the place that arranges this tournament and coexist with each other without boundaries. For instance, in the last world cup in Brazil, all Latin Americans stood beside Argentina in the final match regardless of the past quarrels and the ethnic issues.

Nevertheless, political issues and racism are usually deeply positioned in the conscious of the people. It is well known that wars and combats have disastrous impacts in the souls of the fighting countries. This impact cannot be overcome easily through simple acts like sports competitions. For example, three months ago a friendly match between Serbia and Ukraine went into catastrophic fight among the spectators in the stadium that lead to five killed victims.

To sum up, although international tensions can be decreased by the popular sports events, it is often more difficult to be completely erased. Personally I believe these sports occasions could bridge the gap between various nations.