Some children nowadays take sports seriously while others play sports in their free time. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples.

Looking at the success stories of few individuals these days children are taking up sport seriously. Young generation is fascinated with the fame and money of few successful cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni.

Positive point of taking sports as a career is that children are able to maintain good fitness level without any extra effort. If a person get success in a sport like cricket in a country like India they get unimaginable amount of fame and money. With the recent advent of IPL in India even second category players makes 30-40 million in a short duration of three months.

Pursuing a career in sports has got a big uncertainty, very few percentage of children are able to succeed and become big sports personality. Getting support from parents, friends or relatives is very difficult as no well-wishers want their near ones to take risk in life. Most of them view this as a wastage of time and money. Lot of children are not able to succeed because the adequate facilities are not available at an affordable price. One of my friend Rajeev lost three years of studies devoting his full time to become a national level cricketer, but unfortunately could not cross the district level.

In conclusion sports should be taken up for enjoyment or means to maintain good health rather than taking it up as a career. The probability of getting success is low and getting support from parents is very rare during the struggle period. Overall taking sports seriously as a career is a negative development for children.