Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

No one can argue that knowing other languages has many merits in the modern world. Studying languages has become a very necessary class for younger people. Most educationists believe that learning a second language early in primary schools is more effective than starting in secondary schools. However, some people say that it can bring some drawbacks to children. Both sides are interesting issues that need to be considered carefully.

To begin with, there are many benefits of studying foreign languages at primary schools. Firstly, learning foreign languages at an early stage is much better than an older stage because children’ brains are like sponges which can acquire new things very fast. Younger kids will be able to memorize new vocabulary from other languages along with their mother-tongue in the same time. The fundamental structure of languages can be easily understood by toddlers as well because their brain have not occupied with other knowledge yet. If children starts learning secondary languages later, their brain is already filled with several kinds of knowledge and it will be very hard for them to perceive new language.

Moreover, early exposure foreign languages can be taken with effective and simple ways in a little kid because his/her tongue is still able to pronounce new words easily unlike teenagers. The difference of pronunciation in the second language makes it very difficult to imitate unless a person starts pronounce since he is still very young. Therefore, formative brain and tongue in toddlers can make its easier to learn other languages for them.

However, even though learning foreign languages at an early stage has many languages, it also has some drawbacks if children are forced to over study. Younger people need to learn and explore new things which are fundamental skills for them. Adding a lot of information to younger children, it can lead to over stress or have some emotional problems later.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages from learning other languages in younger people. However, the ability of children’ brain can perceive several languages. Therefore, it will be the great idea to study foreign languages as early as possible.