Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

From some people’s point of view, universities should give alumni the knowledge and skills which can be required in the workplace. Nevertheless, there is a group of people who suppose that the real purpose of universities is to grant a key to knowledge. To be honest, this topic is very controversial and from my perspective, universities should just provide graduates with the workplace, because every company has its special requirements for employees.

I think that for companies the knowledge of the staff hired by them is more paramount rather than the skills required in the workplace because the skills can be obtained just by visiting some training related to it and some experience gathered in the workplace. For instance, there is a vacancy in some company for very responsible job position and 2 applicants: one of them new university leaver with the wonderful qualifications and knowledge and another one is a person with poor knowledge, but very skilled person who knows how to work in the collective. In my opinion, it will be better to hire the first applicant, because the simple rules of behaviour in the workstation will be acquired in process of time.

On the other hand, the training needed for new unskilled employees cost money on the company and it needs some time for graduates without any work skills to adapt in the new workplace. That is why the company can ignore unskilled candidates in order to cut back on the expenses needed for the training and save time.

To summarize, it is more important, according to me, for companies to employ people who have good qualifications, background and knowledge rather that people with skills needed in the workstation, because every skill can be obtained.