UnderBritish and Australian laws a jury in a ceiminal case has no access to information about the defendat's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision. Do you agree or disagree//.

A jury bears a great responsability in reaching a verdict, especially if the case is of a criminal nature. It has been argued if the jury should be granted access to the defendant's past criminal record and I believe this topic can be tackled only in a delicate manner.

To begin with, in any judicial system,juries need to be provided with relevant information with respect to the case on which they are asked to pass judgement. To reach a fair verdict is essential to supply them with an abundent amount of information so that the chances of making a flawed decision are reduced to none.

However, if the past criminal record of a culprit is available to the jury, it might cloud their judgement. In this case, the final decision is stained by prejudice which steams from the previous defendant's deeds. It is a common fact that society discriminates ex-convicts and subconsciously the juries would form preconceived notions, withdrawing from the equity, objectivness and neutrality a jury should impose. Furhermore, manipulative and fme-thirsty prosecutors can take advantage of a past criminal record made available.

In conclusion, I believe that a defendant should be given a chance to equality and judged only by his current deeds.